Welcome to the 11th Annual Malad Valley Welsh Festival

June 26 – June 28, 2014


The residents of Malad Valley would like to invite everyone to the Malad Valley Welsh Festival this year. We are celebrating the rich Welsh heritage that has contributed to the quality of life in the settlement of this beautiful valley.

Welsh pioneers were the first to settle in the Malad Valley in the 1860s. One of their many Welsh traditions was an annual cultural arts event called an eisteddfod, with roots going back 900 years. This event was held locally for many years until it was discontinued before World War 1.

Today, Malad Valley has the largest per capita concentration of people of Welsh ancestry outside the country of Wales itself. For that reason, many residents of the Valley wanted to reestablish their Welsh roots. In 2005, after a 90 year break, this annual cultural event, now called the Malad Valley Welsh Festival, once again became a reality.


MALAD VALLEY WELSH FESTIVAL SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

Schedule of Events to follow


How to get to Malad: Malad is located on I-15, 13 miles north of the Idaho/Utah stateline.  Malad is 100 miles north of Salt Lake City, Utah, and 55 miles south of Pocatello, Idaho.

Location of Welsh Festival: Malad City Park is located between Oneida County Library and LDS Second Ward Church on 100 West.  Most activities are at the Park and the LDS Church building. Follow the Welsh flags to the Park.


Map  to Malad Follow the flags to our Malad City Park


Accommodations:

Chantilly Bed and Breakfast (208-766-4961)

Abigail’s Bed and Breakfast (435-757-6374) or jill@abigailsbedandbreakfast.net

Village Inn Motel (208-766-4761)

K-C Campground (208-766-2759)

Campgrounds are located at all reservoirs throughout Oneida County

Accommodations are also available in nearby communities:

Flags West Motel, Downey (15 minutes)

Tremonton, UT (40 minutes)

Logan, UT (50 minutes)

Brigham City, UT (45 minutes)

Pocatello, ID (50 minutes)

Eating Places:

Burger King

Spero’s BBQ

Dude Ranch

Subway

Malad Drive In

Taquera La Costa

Me ‘n’ Lou’s

The Pines

Pizza Stop

Thomas Market Deli


Visit Malad, Idaho!


The Malad Valley Welsh Festival would like to give a special thanks to:

480-HessLogo

nea_logo

Idaho-Humanities-Council

ISHS-logo

banccorp

Ifft Foundation

RockyMtnPower


The Malad Valley Welsh Festival would not be possible without our donors and sponsors. THANK YOU!


MALAD VALLEY WELSH FESTIVAL

COMMITTEE CHAIRS, 2014

General Information (Malad City Office)

Susan Wittman, 208-766-4010

maladcity@hotmail.com

General Festival Chair and Fund Raising

Jean Thomas, 208-766-4417 or 5361

thomjea2@isu.edu

Publicity

Joan Hawkins, 208-766-4773

newsdesk1@atcnet.net

Jean Thomas, 208-766-4417 or 5361

thomjea2@isu.edu

Family History Displays/Displays of Welsh Life

Bob Crowther, 208-766-4642

abcrowther@atcnet.net

Dianne Pett, 208-766-4169

diannemarvin@atcnet.net

Welsh History/Culture Presentations

Jean Thomas, 208-766-4417-5361

thomjea2@isu.edu

Music Concerts (Choral, Youth, Piano-Duet, Male Vocalist)

Helen Ward, 208-766-4104

helen.ward@malad.us

Technical Support

Kerry Evans, 208-766-4206

kerry.evans@malad.us

Liaison with Speakers/Presentations

Jean Schwartz, 208-766-5401

jean.schwartz@malad.us

Amphitheater Musical Entertainment

Christy Oja, 208-766-4963

oja@atcnet.net

Liaison with Malad Valley Theater Guild

Brenda Daniels, 208-766-4915

Heritage Games (Malad Middle School MathCounts Team)

Kathy Atkinson, 208-766-4469

kathy.atkinson@malad.us

Tracy Ward, 208-766-2297

tracy.ward@malad.us

Quilt Show

Liz Glade, 208-766-7123

Horsedrawn Wagon Tours

Mike Hess, 208-766-4777

mike@hesspumice.com

Food Booths

Cory and Jill Daniels, 208-766-2110

danielsfam06@msn.com

Home Craft Booths

Roxanne Albretsen, 208-604-1234 or 766-4777

roxanne@hesspumice.com

Welsh Country Store

Bobbi Ward, 208-766-4403

Welsh Society “Taste of Wales” Booth

Helen Ravsten, 208-766-2830

ravstenh@aol.com

Christine Bowen, 208-766-5678

Information Booth

Debbie Horsley, 208-766-2622

horsleyfuneralhome@hotmail.com

Hosts/Hostesses

Fay Cottle, 208-766-4847

fsc_83252@yahoo.com

Set up/Tear Down

Steve and Shellee Daniels, 208-766-5500

Malad City Chamber of Commerce

Rhonda Neal, 208-766-4631

Oneida Pioneer Museum

Fay Cottle, 208-766-9247 or 4847

fsc_83252@yahoo.com

Christy Oja, 208-766-4963

oja@atcnet.net

Liaison with Presbyterian Church

Edna Palmer, 208-766-2777

Liaison with Samaria

Luke Waldron, 208-766-4139

luke.waldron@malad.us

Treasurer

Lisa Baker, 208-766-4125

ljbaker@

4th of July Float

Lael Christophersen, 208-766-4237

Leave a Reply